Happy International Women’s Day 2017!

It’s International Women’s Day, and this year they are asking for people to #BeBoldForChange. Before we get onto today’s makeup design, I’d like to take the opportunity to celebrate the achievements of women.

When I’m not drawing on my eyes, I do a bit of work for Ada Lovelace Day, founded and run by my amazingly talented friend Suw Charman-Anderson. Ada Lovelace Day is an organisation that champions women in Science, Technology, Maths and Engineering (STEM), highlights their work and achievements, and encourages girls to consider STEM interests and careers. While Ada Lovelace Day itself, and the success of the women highlighted are obviously at the forefront, none of this would happen without Suw’s dedication and passion. She has even put together a woman in STEM crochet project! In 2015, Womanthology wrote a detailed piece about her work here, as well as the importance of Ada, and it’s well worth a read. So Happy International Women’s Day, Suw, Ada and all the other inspiring women, who do slightly more important things than fannying about with eyeliner*…

And now back to our regularly scheduled makeup. As it’s IWD, I thought I’d try drawing a cameo silhouette of a woman on my eyelid.

cameoSo firstly, I put on some pink eyeshadow from GOSH 9 Shades: To Play With in Vegas palette. Looking back at my posts, I realise I’ve used pink quite a lot, so I might need to go for some other colours soon. What can I say, it contrasts really well with the black. Anyway, I put that all over the top lid, a bit under the bottom eyelashes, and then used some purple from GOSH 9 Shades: To Have Fun With In LA palette** under the bottom lashes too.

I then looked up some clipart of cameos and found one of a woman looking rather proud with a hat at a jaunty angle. I discovered that, actually, drawing profiles is really, really tricky. So by the time I got to the border I’d run out of steam a bit, and just started doodling anything, and then it all got a bit wonky. But there we are. Of course, it goes without saying that it was Bourjois eyeliner for the design. I am, however, considering trying out some pens rather than a brush. This might help my drawing a little.

– hazy shade of glitter

*not that I’m knocking it, you can pry my eyeliner out of my cold, dead hands
**yes, I do have a lot of GOSH palettes and yes, I love them all. Who wouldn’t?

instagram  .  twitter  .  facebook  .  pinterest

Leave a Reply

