outside my window is a tree

A while ago, I’d been messing around with different combinations of eyeshadows and eyeliner to make sunsets and scenery. I look at photos and vector graphics of sunsets and fields and trees and things, and then try to combine them in my mind, and then on my eye. Sometimes more successfully than others.

This was one such experiment. Unfortunately, I can’t remember exactly what brand of eyeshadows I used, but at a guess it would have been various colours from the bright eye makeup palettes made by ELF, Makeup Revolution and Max Factor… Anyway, a pale yellow all over the lid, followed by two greens near the lashes, basically any two that looked like fields and grass. Then a bright orange above the yellow, and along the underneath of the eyebrow. I then used a Superdrug brand white eye pencil, to make the rays of the sun in the centre of the lid.

Next, out came the Bourjois Liner Pinceau (is it possible to love an inanimate object? I feel deep affection for this eyeliner), and firstly, I lined the top lid to give a base for sunsettreegrass/bushes/rushes. I created these by doing little flicks and blobs up from and along the line. Then I started on the tree. I usually draw an outline very lightly with the eyeliner, then start filling it in. For the leaves, I just carefully dabbed the tip over the various branches. To finish, I added a few birds. Again, that was just using the tip of the brush very carefully to create different ‘bird in flight’ shapes.

– hazy shade of glitter

 

Leave a Reply

